Why I left my little Vermont Town

After I tell people where I am from they always respond the exact same “Wow, that’s incredible what made you come here?!”

Everyone else from New York or California doesn’t seem to get asked this but every single time, people seem not able to believe someone from small town Vermont could come to a big city. In fact we don’t even have a real city other than Burlington. Then everyone of course only knows Vermont for our skiing (which I don’t even do). The other reaction is they hear I am from Middlebury and get super excited about the college, but let me make it clear to you, I have nothing to do with the college, never will and never want to.

Anyway I guess it was a big change, first of all to pick up and move to a city, secondly to move across the Atlantic to a country that speaks a different language.

I made this decision for a couple reasons. The first reason was that there was no way I could stay in Vermont, after 18 years in the same small town, every single thing sticks with you, it’s emotionally draining. Also Vermont appears to have this power over people, if you do stay, even if you say youre doing a “gap year” you will never ever leave.  It is beautiful it’s just small and there is not a lot of opportunity.

The second is that I needed to be out of the United States.  Like everyone else in the world I don’t really like the overall view or attitude of Americans (I mean this in a general sense, there are many of you who are good). Also I never really felt life in any place I visited until I came to Rome. Everyone was interesting and around every corner there seemed to be something beautiful. I can’t really explain it. It’s like when you were little and your parents took you to your first fireworks, everything left you in awe.

Finally it was that there was nothing in my life I ever stuck with except for history, from the first time my parents took me to the New York Natural History Museum and I became obsessed with Ancient Egypt, to spending all my elementary school days reading Arthurian Legend and watching Band of Brothers, to high school spending all my time with Latin and reading the Killer Angels.

After visiting Rome I could not imagine being anywhere else, the entire human history can be found here in Italy, leading into prehistoric times. There is never a lack of stories, myths, or art. Everything here intrigues me from the fountains to the monuments, from the delicious food to the chaotic streets.

Moving here was the best decision I have made, and I cannot imagine my life without this beautiful city.

One comment

  1. Love this Evelyn, I share a very similar mindset. Glad to see I’m not the only one who feels claustrophobic about VT.

    Like

What do you think?

