How going to an international school has changed me

Suddenly, a whole lot more foreign issues, affect you personally. Where in the past, back home in the states, we would hear about protests, fights, issues in other countries. But they would simply be that just news, we would maybe say something along the lines of “oh how awful” and then going along with our daily lives. After attending school here, and meeting many people from all over the world including the Balkans, Turkey, Syria and Egypt, I have acquired a whole new level of concern. It is no longer simply news. When I hear about something going on I immediately go and try to contact those friends or acquaintances and make sure they are alright. Especially with the Egyptian situation, where I have a number of close friends, it was no longer some interesting current affair on the news, it was real, and I spent the day worrying hoping they would be alright and get home safely every night. Though of course they all were safe, it was still a much more real situation.  Every international news head line means so much more, and suddenly it’s more understandable, because rather than just the media view, I get to hear the view of the people, and see these issues in a whole new light.

This is great, because it shows I am learning a range of cultures and viewpoints. Though there are days I wish I didn’t have to know. I wish I had remained without this knowledge because it keeps me worrying, especially with the last few days.  However in the long run, and especially when deciding political opinions, I think this is someone everyone needs, to experience other countries politics through the people. It’s truly amazing what you will learn, because the official statements of the presidents or parliaments are not always exactly what everyone thinks.

What I have also noticed through meeting such a diverse group of people, and through traveling, is that though most online statistics, including Forbes, says America is the most patriotic country…I have not seen the evidence. Through my travels I have seen that America is nowhere near as patriotic, they are happy, and content with the way things are but not necessarily as proud. Every country I have visited flies many more flags and talk about their countries with much more pride than Americans do. I think a large reason for this is those who do feel strongly about their country, seem to be from ones who have recently or are continuing to suffer. In our living generations, the US has never experienced issues on home ground, other than one time terrorist attacks; there has never been ongoing war or suffering of the masses. These other countries, have overcome, or stayed strong through hard times, and that seems to make them a much prouder people. It’s hard to see ones country as its strongest, unless you’ve seen it at its weakest. As Americans I think what is important for us to realize how lucky we are, and to notice how well off we are in comparison to other countries. Be proud of your own country, but understand how amazing it is we live with a citizenship of so many freedoms and such a good level of living.

 

What do you think?

